2014-12-11 03.18.17.jpg

Cory Tressler

Phone: 614-292-2578

Email: tressler.8@osu.edu


The goal of this workshop series is to provide partners from East African Universities with intensive foundational instruction on eLearning and distance education as part of the NIH funded eCapacity project.


Presenters:

Tom Evans - evans.1517@osu.edu

Henry Griffy - griffy.2@osu.edu

Tara Koger - koger.13@osu.edu

Nicole Kraft - kraft.42@osu.edu

John Muir - muir.25@osu.edu

DiAnna Palmer - palmer.350@osu.edu

Byron Roush - roush.94@osu.edu

Ben Scragg - scragg.3@osu.edu

Scott Sheeler - sheeler.4@osu.edu



Learning Outcomes

Upon completion of this workshop series you will be able to:

  1. Identify and understand the major components of digital pedagogy, eLearning, and distance education.
  2. Describe the process for online or blended course development.
  3. Implement various eLearning tools and strategies.

Your Responsibilities

By attending these workshops:

  • You agree to engage with the content and the presenters.
  • You agree to ask questions often as they arise.
  • You agree to actively participate in each session.
  • You agree to be take the information you received back to your university and implement as appropriate.

November 7 - Schedule

100 Campbell Hall

9:30am-3:30pm

  • 9:30-10am Welcome & Introductions (Gebreyes/Tressler)
  • 10-11am Overview of eLearning and Distance Education at The Ohio State University (Tressler)
  • 11-11:15am Break
  • 11:15am-12:30pm Modern Pedagogy Pt. 1: Active Learning, Project Based Learning, Technology Enhanced Communication & Collaboration, Teaching in the Information Age (Scragg/Sheeler/Evans)
  • 12:30pm-1pm Lunch (OSU Faculty Showcase - Brian Lower & Kylienne Clark)
  • 1-2pm Campus Tour (Roush/Tressler)
  • 2-2:15pm Break
  • 2:15-3:30pm Android Tablet Distribution (Group)

Resources




November 8 - Schedule

115 Stillman Hall

9:30am-12:30pm

  • 9:30-10:30am Do It Yourself Instructional Video (Sheeler/Roush/Koger)
  • 10:30-10:45am Break
  • 10:45am-12pm Course Design Framework: Instructional Design Process Overview, Backwards Design, What technology is available to your students?, Course Design Checklists/Blueprints (Roush/Palmer)
  • 12-12:30pm Lunch (OSU Faculty Showcase - Rick Voithofer)

260 Ramseyer Hall

12:30-3:30pm

  • 12:45-2:00pm Carmen Canvas & Canvas.net Overview - (Koger/Evans)
  • 2:00-2:15pm Break
  • 2:15-3:15pm Modern Pedagogy pt. 2: Transitioning from Instructor as Deliverer of Knowledge to Instructor as Facilitator of Knowledge Construction (Palmer)
  • 3:15-4:00pm Hands On Practice

Resources


November 14 - Schedule

100 Campbell Hall

9:30am-3:30pm

  • 9:30-10:45am Free eLearning Tools (Tressler/Sheeler)
  • 10:45-11:00am Break
  • 11:00am-12:30pm Course Design Demo
  • 12:30-1pm Lunch (OSU Faculty Showcase - Nicole Kraft)
  • 1-2:15pm Modern Pedagogy Pt. 3 - Using Social Media & Leveraging Open Education Resources (Evans/Kraft)
  • 2:15-2:30pm Break
  • 2:30-3:15pm Takeaway Resources & Next Steps (Griffy/Tressler)
  • 3:15-3:30pm Closing (Gebreyes/Tressler)

Resources

_DSC9305-1.jpg
_DSC9324-1.jpg
_DSC9336-1.jpg
_DSC9410-edited.jpg
_DSC9428-edited.jpg
_DSC9431-edited.jpg
Powered by Learn More
Follow This Page + Follow This Page + Following This Page
Follow This Page
Get notified by email when this page has new information!
* We'll only use this to notify you regarding this page
Follow This Page
Get notified by email when this page has new information!
* You'll be able to stop following at any time.
You're following this page!
We'll email you when this page has new information. You can stop following at any time.
You're following this page!
We'll email you when this page has new information.
×